Quique  Dacosta

Quique Dacosta

Quique Dacosta

Spain

Quique Dacosta – Flawless signature cuisine

From the roof terrace of his restaurant in Dénia you can overlook the fertile coastline, the nearby hills and the blue Mediterranean Sea. 95 percent of all produce used in the kitchen come from this panoramic region. Squid arms dangle on a laundry stand to dry. The nearby fish market supplies the legendary red prawns and rice thrives on the swampy fields. The career of the genial and talented chef also started in this restaurant, once known as “El Poblet”. He was a kitchen boy, who worked his way up to become owner and world star. Today the restaurant bears his name.

El Poblet was born again; not far from Valencia, where Dacosta runs another restaurant and two bars next to this restaurant. Dacosta’s dishes appear to be simple, but when you taste them, they show unexpected depth and often a fascinating play of surprising effects. His menus create flawless signature cuisine, without any parallels to other chefs’ dishes.

For insiders, Quique Dacosta has ranked among the world’s leading avant-garde chefs for many years: Since 2013, he has been awarded three Michelin stars and ranked among the World’s 50 Best Restaurants. The OAD Lists (Opinionated About Dining) nominated him No. 1. in the same year, and since then he has always ranked among the top ten.

Quique Dacosta

Quique Dacosta

Quique Dacosta

Dénia, Spanien

Quique Dacosta – Lupenreine Autorenküche

Von der Dachterrasse seines Restaurants in Dénia aus überblickt man den fruchtbaren Küstensaum, die nahen Hügel und das blaue Mittelmeer. 95 Prozent aller Produkte, die in der Küche verwendet werden, kommen aus dem Bereich dieses Rundblicks. Auf einem Wäscheständer baumeln Tintenfischarme zum Trocknen. Der nahe Fischmarkt liefert die legendären roten Gambas und auf sumpfigen Feldern gedeiht Reis. Und in diesem Restaurant, einst das „El Poblet“, begann auch die Karriere des genial begabten Chefs. Als Küchenjunge, der sich zum Besitzer und Weltstar emporarbeitete. Heute trägt das Restaurant seinen Namen.

Das El Poblet wurde neu geboren; im unweit entfernen Valencia, wo Dacosta neben diesem Restaurant noch ein weiteres und zwei Bars bewirtschaftet. Dacostas Gerichte sind augenscheinlich einfach, zeigen aber bei der Verkostung ungeahnte Tiefe und oft ein Spiel mit überraschenden Effekten. Seine Menüs sind lupenreine Autorenküche, ohne irgendwelche Ähnlichkeiten zu Gerichten anderer Chefs.

Für Insider rangiert Quique Dacosta seit vielen Jahren in der Weltelite der Chef-Avantgarde: Seit 2013 mit drei Michelinsternen ausgezeichnet und mit Platzierungen in der Liste der World’s 50 Best Restaurants. De Liste OAD (Optionated About Dining) machte ihn im gleichen Jahr zur No. 1. Seitdem rangiert er immer unter den Top-Ten.